Dog Licenses

Dog Licenses renew annually in June.  Dog owners may renew their licenses online, by mail or using the drop box located outside of Town Hall, across from the Police Department. 

licensing law overview

State law mandates that all dogs over six months of age must be licensed in the town in which they reside.  Dogs must wear the tag on a collar around their neck. All dog licenses are renewed in June to become effective July 1.  All licenses renewed after July 1st are subject to a penalty of $1.00 per month.

All dogs licensed in the state of Connecticut require a current rabies vaccination.

New Licenses

Puppies must be licenced by the time they turn 6 months old.  Dogs 6 months or older must be licensed within 30 days.  

A veterinarian provided Certificate of Rabies Vaccine, including expiration date (not the tag) must be provided at the time of license application.  No license will be issued without a veterinarian provided Certificate of Rabies Vaccine.

A veterinarian provided Certificate of Spayed/Neutered or rabies certificate stating MN (male neutered) or FS (female spayed) is required for spayed/neutered status.

Fees

  • Unaltered dog: $19.00
  • Spayed/Neutered $8.00

Licenses not applied for within the required 30 days will be subject to penalty of $1.00 per month.

Please provide the documentation and fee as outlined above, along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope.    When licensing a new dog by US Mail/ dropbox please enclose the downloadable application or include your name, address, phone number, email address and the dog's name, age, breed and color, rabies certificate and spay/neuter certificate (if applicable) as noted above.

License Renewals

June is dog license month for renewals in the State of Connecticut.  Please utilize the Town Hall dropbox, postal service, or online service (June only) to obtain license renewals.


June is dog license month for renewals in the State of Connecticut. Please utilize the Town Hall drop box, postal service, or online service (June only) to obtain your dog's license. To keep Madison safe please follow the directions below. 

Nancy J. Martucci, CCTC, CMC
Town Clerk, Madison, CT

paw

Online payments will be available during the month of June only.

transfer of ownership

A dog licensed in the State of Connecticut can change owners.

  1. Mail the license and tag to the Town Clerk in the town of the new owner, along with the fee of $1.00
  2. The Town Clerk will retain the old license and tag, and issue the new license and tag.

If the license and tag are not presented, the new owner must purchase a new license and tag at the full prevailing rate.

owner_moves_within_Connecticut

If a dog owner moves to another town within Connecticut they shall:

  1. Mail the existing license and tag to the Town Clerk of the new town with the fee of 50¢.
  2. The Town Clerk will retain the old license and tag, and issue a new license and tag.

If the license and tag are not presented, the new owner must purchase a new license and tag at the full prevailing rate.

Guide Dogs

Guide dogs are dogs which are trained or educated to guide and assist a blind, deaf*, and/or mobility impaired people in traveling public streets or highways. A license and tag may be issued by the Town Clerk in the town where such dog is owned or kept.  No fee shall be charged for guide dogs.  Written evidence of training/education and intent to perform guide service must be presented to the Town Clerk the first time guide dog status is requested.

Nonprofit Organizations

Dogs placed temporarily by a nonprofit organizations established for the purpose of training and educating guide dogs, including for breeding purposes, shall receive a license and tag from the Town Clerk of the town where the dog is kept. No fee shall be charged if written evidence from the nonprofit is provided stating that such dog was placed with such person by such organization.

*Connecticut Statute defines a deaf person as a person who cannot readily understand spoken language through hearing alone and who may also have a speech defect which renders such person's speech unintelligible to most people with normal hearing.

lost tags

The fee for replacement tags is 50¢